Watching Old Faithful erupt, Yellowstone National Park

Last week, I wrote a post about the fabulous and atmospheric Old Faithful Inn, the world’s biggest log cabin, and the lodging found just across from the iconic Old Faithful geyser of Yellowstone National park. I’m certain that all visitors to Yellowstone eventually find their way to Old Faithful, the park’s most famous geyser, erupting…

Read More

Book review: The Good Girl

This psychological thriller by Mary Kubica is being promoted for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on The Train. This isn’t my normal genre, but I was curious to read this book after reading about it and finding the plot intriguing. I’d read both Gone Girl and The Girl on The Train. Despite being…

Read More

Elena Ferrante on bending writing rules

“I use plots, yes, but, I have to say, I can’t respect the rules of genres.” —Elena Ferrante Successful, anonymous author Elena Ferrante certainly has the right to devise books any way she chooses. The Italian novelist (male or female, we don’t know, but my money’s on female) became an international bestseller with her ‘Neapolitan…

Read More

Admiring Hluboká nad Vltavou, Czech Republic

The Hluboká nad Vltavou is a very pretty castle in southern Bohemia. The town itself is situated on the Vltava River, very close to the Czech city of České Budějovice. This castle was built from the medieval Froburg castle, perched above the Vltava river. It once belonged to the Přemyslid king Ottokar II of Bohemia. Later it passed…

Read More

Novels over authors

“I am more interested in works than authors.” -E.M. Forster “What is important is ‘Hamlet’ and ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream,’ not who wrote them.” -William Faulkner An interesting observation from the great novelist, E.M. Forster (1879-1970), who has  a soft spot in  my heart for all the novels he set in Italy. And something very…

Read More

A sleepy Austrian spa town where WWI began: Bad Ischl

On a trip last summer through Austria, while driving through Upper Austria (Oberösterreich) when we passed near Bad Ischl and decided to stop and stretch our legs. Bad Ischl was well-known among court society in the past centuries. the saltwater springs located here were discovered back in the 16th century, but it only became a…

Read More

Book Blogger Hop: Who am I reading for?

Over at the excellent blog for readers, Once Upon a Littlefield, blogger Emma joins the Book Blogger Hop answering the question: Who am I reading for? The question – which is ideally answered by many bloggers blogging about or reviewing books:  Do you read and review books mainly for publishers or authors? Like Emma, I…

Read More

Relaxing in Ubud’s Lotus Cafe, Bali

The town of Ubud, in the center of Bali, Indonesia, is a relaxing place to visit. My sons and I had fun exploring when we were here for a holiday and made Ubud our base for some days. One place we stopped off at a few times in our wanderings around town was the pretty Lotus…

Read More